DUI laws in Las Vegas are often misinterpreted by a lot of people. If you, or one of the people you know, is involved in a DUI case, it is best to find Vegas DUI attorneys to make matters clear for you. DUI attorneys could also help get the charges dismissed. However, a basic knowledge of the DUI laws in Vegas can help you come up with the right decisions about your case. Here are the answers to the most frequently asked questions about DUI cases and DUI laws in Vegas:
What happens if I refuse to take a breathalyzer test in Nevada?
Breathalyzer refusal is a violation of the DUI law and it comes with serious penalties. When you submitted your application for driver’s license, you also gave your consent for law enforcement officers to take a preliminary breathalyzer test when they suspect you of driving under the influence. The Implied Consent Law clearly indicates this and the corresponding penalties. The police are also given the right to apply reasonable force, bring you to the police station or the hospital where you can take the test.
When will the police take the blood alcohol content (BAC) test?
Once you give the police probable cause to believe you are drinking under the influence, you give them the right subject you to a BAC test. The test should be taken within 2 hours from when you were last seen driving.
What are the legal BAC limits in Nevada?
If you are under 21 years old, your BAC limit is 0.02%; if you are a commercial license holder your BAC limit is 0.04%; everyone else has a BAC limit of 0.08%.
How long do I stay in jail for DUI convictions in Nevada?
How long you will stay in jail for a DUI conviction in Nevada depends mainly on whether it is your first,second, or third conviction. If it is your first time, you can get 48 hours of community service; if it is your second time, you could get at least 10 days jail time; if it is your third time, you could get at least 1 year jail time.
Will my previous Nevada DUI convictions affect my sentence?
Prior DUI convictions will stay on your record for 7 years. They can gravely affect your sentence when you get convicted for another DUI violation in Nevada.
How do I reduce a DUI to “wet reckless” in Nevada?
“Wet reckless” or reckless driving involving alcohol has fewer penalties than a DUI conviction. DUI attorneys Vegas can help you with a wet reckless plea, but there is no guarantee it will be accepted in Nevada.
Will I get an ignition interlock device if it is only my 1st offense?
Yes. The ignition interlock device will stay in your vehicle for 3 to 6 months regardless of whether it is your first or third time.
Where do I get help when I get cited for DUI?
It is best to contact the Ticket Fixer when you get involved in a DUI case. They can give you the best DUI attorneys in Vegas. Take advantage of their free legal evaluation offer. Call them today!